I cannot start my morning without an iced coffee. I’m not one for hot coffee, I actually can’t stand it! For some reason, though, I don’t mind it cold, but it also needs to have flavor. As you know, we are on a TIGHT budget (thus the 31 Budget Meals), so even buying creamer is a struggle.

I used to steep my coffee for 24 hours, but I truly hated all the work of straining. My husband drinks a LOT of coffee, so whatever is leftover from the day I’ll put in the fridge to use the next morning. I also loved Wal-Mart’s brand creamer, Chocolate Raspberry, but since it’s the only place on the planet that sells that flavor and we live clear across town from the store, I haven’t been able to get any lately. So instead, I found a recipe for Homemade Vanilla and Chocolate Syrups that I can now add to my iced coffee.

Vanilla Syrup:

Bring 2 cups water and 1 1/2 cups sugar to a boil and simmer for 5 minutes. Remove from heat and add 3/4 teaspoons vanilla. Let it cool and store in fridge.

 

Chocolate Almond Syrup:

Bring 2 cups water, 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder and 1 cup sugar to a boil and simmer for 5 minutes. Remove from heat and add 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and 1/4 teaspoon almond extract. For simply chocolate, don’t add almond. I use it for chocolate milk, too! My two-year old went NUTS for it!

 

Iced Coffee:

1 cup cold coffee

1/4 cup syrup of choice (or mix vanilla with choco/almond–YUM!)

1/4 cup Half & Half or milk

 

Wake up and say: Mmmmm!

 

Leave a Reply

